All the Different Planets

Planets are in space.We have nine planets in our Solar System. These planets circle around the sun (as I’m sure you know already) this is called orbits.

The planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Neptune, Uranus and Pluto. Many people argue that Pluto isn’t a planet and it’s now called a Dwarf Planet.Here is a bit about all of them:


-Mercury is the closest planet to the sun!                                   

-Your weight on Mercury would be 38% of your weight on Earth!

-It’s not known who discovered Mercury.


-Venus is sometimes referred to as the “morning star” and “evening star”!

-One day on Venus is longer than one year.

-Venus is sometimes called Earth’s sister planet.


-The Earth is 93 million miles, or 150 million kilometres from the Sun.

-It is the only planet in the solar system that has life.

-It is the only planet that has liquid water on its surface.


-Mars is home to the tallest mountain in the solar system.

-There are signs of liquid water on Mars.

-One day Mars will have a ring.


-Jupiter has the shortest day of all the planets.

-Eight spacecraft have visited Jupiter!

-The Great Red Spot is a huge storm on Jupiter.


-Saturn is the flattest planet.

-Saturn is made mostly of hydrogen!

-Four spacecraft have visited Saturn.


  • Its the eighth planet from the sun!!
  • It was named after the Roman God of the sea.
  • Neptune is blue.


-Its not visible to the human eye.

-Uranus is the first planet discovered by telescope.

-The length of the day on Uranus is 17 hours!


-Pluto is the smallest planet.

-It was discovered in 1930!

-Pluto is one third water!

So there are all the facts you possibly need to know about the planets in the solar system!

Be the first to comment on "All the Different Planets"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.