Savanna Animals.

Elephants- The tusk of an African Elephant can grow up to ten feet long and can weigh up to ninety kilograms. Elephants are known for their large ears, tusks made of ivory and their trunks which are actually a fusion of their nose and upper lip. Elephants are the worlds largest animal! Male African elephants can reach 3 metres tall and weigh between 4,000-7,500 kilograms.

Giraffes- Giraffes live in primarily savanna areas in the sub-Saharan region of Africa. Their extreme height allows them to eat leaves and shoots located much higher than other animals can reach. In particular, they seek out Acacia trees. Their long tongues are helpful in eating because they help pull leaves from trees.

Rhino- The name rhinoceros means ‘nose horn’ and is often shortened to rhino. There are five different species of rhinoceros, three native to Southern Asia and two native to Africa. They are the black rhinoceros, white rhinoceros, Indian rhinoceros, Javan rhinoceros and Sumatran rhinoceros. All five species of rhinoceros can grow to weigh over 1000 kilograms 2200 lb. White rhino can weigh over 3500 kilograms 7700 lb.

Zebra- Zebras are part of the equidae family along with horses and donkeys. Every zebra has a unique pattern of black and white stripes. There are a number of different theories which attempt to explain zebras unique stripes most relating to camouflage. Also the wild zebras live in Africa. Zebra’s are generally social animals that live in small harems to large herds. A plains zebra- least concern a Grevy’s zebra is endangered last but not least mountain zebra is vulnerable.

Lion- Living in the grasslands, scrub, and open woodlands of sub-saharan Africa the lion is the second larges cat in the world. It is dwarfed slightly by the Tiger, which is closely related and has a very similar body type. Unlike other giant cats lions are very social animals. Here is just five of the species of lion Asiatic lion, African lion, West African lion, American lion and Eurasian lion. The lion is a species in the family Felidae; it is a muscular, deep chested cat with a short rounded head.

Gazelle- The Thomson’s gazelle (Eudorcas thomsonii) looks similar to Grant’s Gazelle but is noticeably smaller and has a white patch on its rump that extends beyond it’s tail onto it’s back it can reach speeds of 50 mph (80 kph) and roams about the open, grassy plains of Africa. A gazelle is any of many antelope species in the genus Gazella or formerly considered to belong to it. Six species are included in two genera, Eudorcas and vanger, which were formerly considered sub-genera. Wildebeest- Wildebeest live in large herds composed of animals of both sex and their offspring. Life in herd provides protection against predators. Predators of wildebeest are lions, hyenas, cheetahs and African wild dogs. During mating season breeding groups composed of around 150 animals will be created. The wildebeests also called gnus are the genus of antelopes, scientific name connochaetes. They belong to the family Brovidae as well as  other even-toed ungulates. Hyena- Hyenas are like large dog-like carnivores. They live in savannas, grasslands, sub-deserts and forests of Africa and Asia. There are four types of hyena that differ in size and type of diet, those are: spotted, brown, striped and the aardwolf. Hyenas or hyaenas are any feliform carnivoran mammals of the family Hyenidae with only four extand species it is the fifth- smallest biological family in the carnivora, and one of the smallest in the class mammalia. Despite their low diversity, hyenas are unique and vital components of most African ecosystems. Common Warthogs- common warthogs live in grasslands and savanna woodlands of Africa. They prefer open areas, and are found on mount Kilimanjaro at the elevation of 3,000 metres (9,843 feet), according to ADW. Desert warthogs are found in Eastern Africa- in parts of Kenya, Somalia and Ethiopia. The common warthog is a member of the pig family and in the past it was commonly treated as a subspecies of P. aethiopicus but today that name is restricted to the desert warthog.      

2 Comments on "Savanna Animals."

  1. Eesha Hussain | Nov 17, 2018 at 8:12 pm | Reply


  2. Great vocabulary. Remember to use commas after fronted adverbials/ fronted subordinate clauses and before coordinating conjunctions if they are used to join two main clauses.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.